Global Stampers August 2017: Floral/Fruit Theme

Hi there,

I’ve been MIA since early June as I’ve been busy with moving house as well as celebrating my oldest daughter’s 5th birthday & getting her organised to start school! I’m back now and hoping to post on a more regular basis as we settle into a new routine.

Did you know that Global Stampers celebrated our 1st birthday just over a week ago?! The year sure did go by fast! We’ll be changing things up a little for our future posts & hope to celebrate more birthdays in the coming years  🙂

This month we’ll be featuring a floral/fruit theme. Those of you who know me well know that I’m not a floral/fruit themed kinda girl so I struggled a little, Lol  😀

But after looking through my stamps, I found some images I could use for the theme. So enough chatter, here are my cards…

GSAUG2017 Floral Theme
What do you think? I think I did ok considering this isn’t my usual style 😉 Let’s have a closer look at the individual cards. First up we have the birthday card…

GSAUG2017 Happy Birthday Gorgeous

I figured since I’m not used to floral cards, keeping it simple will be the key to success!  I wanted the flowers to be my focal point but since they were smaller, I decided a small area stamped with the Hardwood stamp to create a background will help. I also lightly sponged Powder Pink ink over where I stamped.

I used the debossed side of the Pinewood Planks Dynamic Textured Impressions Embossing Folder. This helped fill in the ‘white space’ on the card as well as add interest & subtle texture.

Here’s a close up of the flowers with and texture from the debossed background.

GSAUG2017 Happy Birthday Gorgeous close up

For the thank you card, I wanted to showcase the Eastern Beauty stamp set which isn’t specifically floral. I love this set for it’s versatility & saw beautiful flowers with a few images stamped together. Again I wanted to keep it simple & have the flowers as the focal point…

GSAUG2017 Eastern Beauty Floral Thanks
Like the previous card, I wanted to fill in the ‘white space’, while adding interest & subtle texture so I used the Ruffled Dynamic Textured Impressions Embossing Folder. I love the look it created. I stamped my sentiment directly onto my doily.

Here’s a close up look at the flowers & I’ll break down the images I used to create the flowers…

GSAUG2017 Eastern Beauty Floral Thanks close up
I used the heart-like image (flower on the right) & the spiral image (flower on the left) to create the pattern on the petals and the spray image to create the centre of the flowers. I lightly applied Sweet Sugarplum ink to the petals using a cotton bud. Then a bit of Wink of Stella for sparkle & a rhinsetone to finish.

I hope you enjoyed my projects today. Click on buttons below to hop forward to the fabulous Ann from Australia & check out her beautiful floral birthday projects. Or you can hop backwards to the amazing Valérie from France for her cute fruit card.

Blog Hop Forward button

Blog Hop Back button

Here’s a list of the Global Stampers in case you get lost:

  1. Alicia Yap (you are here)
  2. Ann Lewis
  3. Fiona Whitten
  4. Robbie Rubala
  5. Valérie Perlin

Thanks for hopping along with us today. We’ll be back for another installment next month.

Until next time, sending crafty hugs!  🙂


Product List

This entry was posted in Birthday, Global Stampers, Thank you and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Global Stampers August 2017: Floral/Fruit Theme

  1. Ann Lewis says:

    Both these cards are gorgeous. And your florals are so subtle but still so feminine. Decorated backgrounds make both cards pop.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Les ateliers de Val » Global Stampers : Blog hop fruits et fleurs

  3. I love your cards, especialy those 2 oriental flowers, i love the color you used, great job Alicia

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Megan says:

    Oh I love them Alicia! They are very pretty, cool colours!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Robbie says:

    Love your cards Alicia! I love what you did with the Eastern Beauty bundle.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

