Don’t Quit Your Daydream

Hi there,

I got play with some other new items from the Occasions & Sale-A-Bration (SAB) catalogues.  I recently joined a new colour challenge group on Facebook. It’s called Colour INKspiration and you can find them here.

colour-inkspiration-logo

The official challenge starts on 11 January but they had a pre-challenge to get everyone’s creative juices going. Here are the colours they had for the pre-challenge.

colour-inkspiration-pre-challenge

And here’s what I made for the challenge.

dont-quit-your-daydream

The images are from the Basket Bunch set which are easy to cut out with the coordinating Basket Builder Framelits. I coloured them in using the new Watercolour Pencils & the aqua painters. In my last post I used  watercolour paper but this time I used our Shimmery White cardstock. I think there’s a subtle difference when you use the different cardstocks. Here’s a close up of the flowers.

dont-quit-your-daydream-flowers-close-up

I find it easier to create the shadows/depth on watercolour paper as you don’t have to press as hard to get the difference in intensity. I needed to be a lot more heavy handed on the Shimmery White cardstock.

The sentiment is from the free SAB Designer Tee set. This set is meant to coordinate with the Custom Tee set in the Occasions catalogue. I like that the sentiments in the set are quite versatile & that they can be used on their own. I especially love the sentiment I used here – I definitely don’t intend to quit my daydream!

Here’s a close up of the sentiment.

dont-quit-your-daydream-sentiments

Also, did you notice the faint wash to create the sky behind the sentiment? I used the Bermuda Bay watercolour pencil and shaded very lightly to create this wash. I couldn’t decide which colour I prefered so I did two versions. One is with a Mint Macaron wash & Bermuda Bay sentiment and the other with a Daffodil Delight wash & Mint Macaron sentiment.

Here’s a side by side of both cards.

I think I’m leaning towards the Mint Macaron wash with Bermuda Bay sentiment. Which do you prefer? I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments.

Thanks for stopping by today & I hope you will join the Colour INKspiration group on Facebook and play along with their challenges.

Until next time, happy stamping!   🙂


Product List

This entry was posted in Generic Occasion cards and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

