Elephant Punch Art Birthday

Happy New Year 2017!

I hope you had a fantastic celebration to end 2016 & I wish you a happy & crafty 2017. I’m starting my year with a birthday card. This card was made for my younger daughter Esmé who celebrated her 1st birthday on New Year’s Eve.

She’s affectionately known as my lil’ Peanut & she has an elephant cuddly. So, of course she had to have an elephant on her card. Here’s the card I made.

esmes-1st-bday-card

The elephant punch art was made using the Fox Builder punch, which I absolutely love. It was inspired by Joanne Hodge who shared her various creations on a Demo only Facebook group. We get so much creative inspiration from each other, that’s why I love being a Demo. You can join and be inspired too! For more information, you can check out the details under “Join my Team“.

Anyway, back to the project. Here’s a close up of the cute little elephant.

elephant-punch-art

To create the slightly watercoloured look for the sentiment, I inked up the stamp in Watermelon Wonder. I stamped it off lightly on some scrap then spritzed it with a bit of water before stamping onto my watercolour paper. Here’s a close up of it.

esmes-1st-bday-card-close-up

I used the new Watercolour Pencils, available from today, 4 January, in the latest Occasions Catalogue, to create the watering hole background. I’m not the best at Watercolouring but these pencils make it so easy to create a quick card with lots of “wow”. Here’s a tip I want to share with you.

watercolour-pencils-tip

I used a heavier hand while colouring to create depth/shadows in the images. The colours blend effortlessly when you use the aqua painter to create the watercoloured look.

And for an aside, this was Esmé’s cake, which also features a little elephant by a watering hole.

2017-01-02-17-36-16

I hope you enjoyed this project & the tip I shared with you. Thanks for stopping by today. Until next time, happy stamping!   🙂


Product List

This entry was posted in Birthday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

