Global Stampers September 2016: Colour Challenge

Hi all,

Here’s our next installment of the Global Stampers monthly posts. This time we decided on a colour challenge and here are the colours we chose.

sept-2016-colour-challenge

The Demos in the Northern hemisphere are now in Autumn/Fall but for Ann (Australia) & I, we’re enjoying some lovely spring weather. So instead of an Autumn/Fall theme, we decided a colour challenge would be more appropriate so that the posts stay relevant to all our readers   🙂

These colours were inspired by the Paisleys & Posies suite in our current Holiday Catalogue. The other Demos will be showcasing some of the products from the suite but since I’ve never been a paisley kinda girl, I went with something different to feature these colours.

I have to admit I struggled with these colours a little as they’re not my favourite choices. But that’s the whole purpose of these challenges, they’re there to encourage us to step outside our comfort zone.

For those of you who know me well, know that I’m not a floral kinda girl either. But there are times/occasions where flowers are best for a card. So, what is a girl to do when she doesn’t own many flower based stamp sets? Well, you start looking at sets you do have and make them work.

Here’s the first project I made for this challenge.

global-stampers-sept-2016-merriest-wishes-flowers

So what do you think? Do you recognise which stamp set these images came from? Well, the ‘flowers’ were made using two images from the Merriest Wishes stamp set and the ‘stems’ & ‘leaves’ are from one of my favourites, Swirly Bird.

The Merriest Wishes stamp set is a Christmas set but I totally saw flowers with those round images. Flowers make people happy, so the sentiment works perfectly for this card!

I kept the card fairly simple to show off the colours and the masking technique I used. I’m normally a layers girl, so only having one of the little flowers raised on dimensionals was a huge deal for me! I decided a simple card front needed a pretty inside, so I did a bit of stamping there too. Here’s a look at the inside.

global-stampers-sept-2016-merriest-wishes-flowers-inside

Now, onto another project using these colours. As I mentioned earlier, these colours aren’t a favourite of mine. My favourites come from our Subtles collection as I love my pastels. When you have darker colours like Delightful Dijon & Rich Razzleberry, watercolour techniques are amazing to give you lighter shades. So I thought I’d create a project to show you how to make your ink colours go further.

Here’s my second project.

global-stampers-sept-2016-merriest-wishes-hope

Now these shades are more my style and they’re still Delightful Dijon, Mint Macaron & Rich Razzleberry. The technique I used was the watercolour lifting technique. You can find various tutorials on youtube by searching watercolour lifting. It’s a fun technique you can use to create awesome watercoloured background pieces for your projects.

I used the Shimmery White cardstock and I watercoloured the piece I cut the ‘hope’ out of as well. Now, the sentiment didn’t stand out on the watercoloured piece & I was stuck on how to “lift” it. The amazing thing I love about Stampin’ Up! is the amazing community we work with. So, off I went to my extended team’s Facebook group & asked for their advice. I got great advice from them and here’s a close up at what I ended up with.

global-stampers-sept-2016-merriest-wishes-hope-close-up

I cut another piece of the ‘hope’ out of Shimmery White cardstock then painted it with the Gold Wink of Stella Glitter brush to create the shadow piece. It’s hard to see in the photo but the shadow piece is super sparkly! Then a single strand separated from the gold twine creates the nest of twine behind the sentiment.

I love the way these colours look in this shade much better than in the first project. What about you? I would love to hear your thoughts, so please comment below which one you prefer better.

Well, thanks for stopping by today. Make sure to come back again later this week to see what the other ladies made using this colour combo.

Until next time, happy stamping!  🙂


Product List

Merriest Wishes Wood-Mount Stamp Set

Merriest Wishes Wood-Mount Stamp Set

[142063]

$59.00

Merriest Wishes Clear-Mount Stamp Set

Merriest Wishes Clear-Mount Stamp Set

[142066]

$42.00

Swirly Bird Photopolymer Stamp Set

Swirly Bird Photopolymer Stamp Set

[141749]

$53.00

Bloomin' Love Photopolymer Stamp Set

Bloomin’ Love Photopolymer Stamp Set

[140643]

$36.00

Delightful Dijon Classic Stampin' Pad

Delightful Dijon Classic Stampin’ Pad

[138327]

$14.00

Mint Macaron Classic Stampin' Pad

Mint Macaron Classic Stampin’ Pad

[138326]

$14.00

Rich Razzlebberry Classic Stampin' Pad

Rich Razzlebberry Classic Stampin’ Pad

[126950]

$14.00

Versamark Pad

Versamark Pad

[102283]

$18.25

Gold Wink Of Stella Glitter Brush

Gold Wink Of Stella Glitter Brush

[141898]

$14.00

Delightful Dijon A4 Cardstock

Delightful Dijon A4 Cardstock

[138345]

$17.00

Whisper White A4 Card Stock

Whisper White A4 Card Stock

[106549]

$19.25

Shimmery White A4 Card Stock

Shimmery White A4 Card Stock

[121717]

$17.00

Pearl Basic Jewels Embellishments

Pearl Basic Jewels Embellishments

[119247]

$10.75

Baker's Twine Trio Pack

Baker’s Twine Trio Pack

[141999]

$19.50

Sunshine Wishes Thinlits Dies

Sunshine Wishes Thinlits Dies

[141489]

$54.00

Clear Stampin' Emboss Powder

Clear Stampin’ Emboss Powder

[109130]

$10.75

Heat Tool

Heat Tool

[129056]

$60.00

Aqua Painters

Aqua Painters

[103954]

$24.00

Stamping Sponges

Stamping Sponges

[141337]

$7.25

Fast Fuse Adhesive

Fast Fuse Adhesive

[129026]

$15.00

Glue Dots

Glue Dots

[103683]

$10.00

Stampin' Dimensionals

Stampin’ Dimensionals

[104430]

$7.25

This entry was posted in Generic Occasion cards, Global Stampers. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Global Stampers September 2016: Colour Challenge

  1. Megan says:

    I love the ‘hope’ card. There is something about the Wink of Stella that I really like – probably the sparkles haha

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Patrice says:

    Gorgeous cards Alicia 🙂 but my favourite is the 2nd one, I really love the background effect you created.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Paisleys & Posies Global Stampers September Challenge Inspiration

  4. I love you cards. They are so different, but i can’t decide wich one i prefer

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Alicia, I love all these cards and you have really made the colours pop.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Fiona says:

    I love both of your cards but think the first is my favourite. The colours work great on it. x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

