Hearth & Home Hanging Luminary #GDP008

Hi!

I’m back with another Christmas project this week.

As soon as I saw the Hearth & Home Thinlits Dies in the Holiday Catalogue, I knew I had to make a luminary. I love how pretty a luminary is and how it adds a lovely touch to your home decor anytime of the year.

I had an idea to make a small hanging luminary that could be used as a Christmas tree decoration. I was a bit stuck on what colours to use though, but along came the Global Design Project weekly challenge, #GDP008. They’ve got a CASE the Designer challenge this week and I was inspired by the colours Kylie Bertucci used in her card.

#GDP008 Case the Designer Kylie Bertucci

So here’s what I came up with for my Hearth & Home Hanging Luminary that I am entering for the challenge…

Hanging Hearth & Home Luminary front

And here it is with the LED candle on…

Hanging Hearth & Home Luminary with LED candle

I made it a triangle shaped luminary so that it was less bulky when hanging on the tree. Here are some photos from the top & side views…

Hanging Hearth & Home Luminary top view  Hanging Hearth & Home Luminary side view  Hanging Hearth & Home Luminary side view 1

I found that the nutcracker & presents image didn’t fill up the entire ‘window’ space so I stamped some extra presents. I needed to add some sort of ribbon or trim to the bottom of the luminary to finish it off but realised I had run out of any in Crushed Curry. So, instead I sponged up some Whisper White 1/4″ Cotton ribbon & “Ta-da!” – instant Crushed Curry ribbon!

As for the snowflake embellishment in the corner, I stamped it on Very Vanilla with Tip Top Taupe ink. I traced over the image with my Fine-Tip Glue Pen & sprinkled Dazzling Diamonds over it. Another home made embellishment to add a bit of sparkle to the project! Here’s a close up of the snowflake…

Hanging Hearth & Home Luminary close up

Isn’t it sparkly & gorgeous?! I love how easy it is to add sparkle to fine details with our amazing new Fine-Tip Glue Pen!   🙂

Thanks for joining me today. I hope you enjoyed my project this week. Don’t forget to stop by the Global Design Project & check out the talented entries. There’s still time for you to join in on the fun too!

Until next time, happy stamping!   🙂


Price: $11.00

Supply List

Built for Free Using: My Stampin Blog

This entry was posted in 3D projects, Christmas and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Hearth & Home Hanging Luminary #GDP008

  1. Brian says:

    Alicia – Wowza! A luminary. How brilliant are you! I love everything about this. Great use of the colors from Kylie’s project. Thank you so much for playing along with this week’s Global Design Project CASE the Designer Challenge. I’m glad you did.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Paula Dobson says:

    I love 3D projects, especially ones that glow! How beautiful is this project?! You have used the colours from Kylie’s original project beautifully! Thanks so much for playing at Global Design Project with us this week.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The is totally amazing! I am blown away.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Louise Sharp says:

    My goodness…this is amazing…..the work involved is out of this world. A great job. Thank you for playing along with the Global Design Project. Louise xo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

