Unconventional Christmas Colours GDP#005

Hi there,

I’ve decided to participate in this week’s Global Design Project challenge. It’s a colour challenge this time…

GDP005-01_Colour_Challenge

I’m in holiday crafting mode at the moment so I’ve been coming up with quite a few Christmas card ideas.

I think traditional Christmas colours are gorgeous but I’m also a huge fan of unconventional colours! So, I thought “Why not give these colours a try for an unconventional Christmas colour scheme?”

Here’s what I came up with…

Unconventional Christmas Colours

What do you think? I like the freshness of the colours, reminds me of Spring and Summer here in New Zealand. I think it’s quite appropriate for us since we don’t have White Christmas here.

I did use the ‘snow’ image from the Jingle All the Way stamp set but I’m sure we could pass it off as ‘hail’ at Christmas in the Southern Hemisphere   😉

Normally, most of the Christmas scenes on cards tend to be in the night time since Santa delivers all his gifts after dark. So, I thought this challenge was a good excuse to create a daytime Christmas scene using the Soft Sky colour.

Here’s a close up of my card…

Unconventional Christmas Colours close up

The ‘snow’/’hail’ dots were inked with Versamark & heat embossed with White Stampin’ Emboss Powder. Then I sponged the Soft Sky ink over it, adding more to the top of the card to create a very mild ombre effect.

I used my Aqua Painter to colour in the Pear Pizzazz trees and the Daffodil Delight houses. I also did a very light watercolour wash with Pear Pizzazz ink on the white areas of the Shimmery White cardstock.

I really enjoyed making this card and am really glad that the idea in my head worked out on paper! I hope you enjoyed my take on this challenge and my unconventional Christmas colour choice.

Don’t forget to join in on the challenge at the Global Design Project! And thanks for stopping by today.

Until next time, happy stamping!    🙂


Supply List

Built for Free Using: My Stampin Blog

This entry was posted in Christmas and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Unconventional Christmas Colours GDP#005

  1. Paula Dobson says:

    Alicia, I love your New Zealand Christmas card! What a great use of the challenge colors. The little snow stamp could be seen as little puffs of cloud too. Thanks for playing at Global Design Project this week, I hope you will join in again soon ♥

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Teneale Williams says:

    I can not tell you how much I love that you have used the colour challenge for a Christmas card, I adore seeing non-traditional Christmas cards. Thank you for taking the time to play at Global Design Project.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. bibicameron says:

    what a warm card!! Love it! you make me remember that xmas is not always snow. I’m living in Scotland but I’m from South America so I forgot how the Xmas are in my country. Not snowflakes for us over there. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

