Old meets new (Sneak Peek)

Hi there,

Sorry for being MIA for such a long time! I’ve been pretty ill the past couple of weeks with a nasty round of winter bugs, so I haven’t had a chance to post here.

But I’m back now & I’m pleased to be back! Today I’ve got some sneak peek products to share with you in combination with some retiring products.

Here’s the thank you note that I made for my customers this month…

May Thank You Notes

What do you think? I decided to go with a clean and simple design this time, so I could showcase the stamp set & those cute curly twine embellishments again! The stamped image & sentiments are from an upcoming set called I Think You’re Great.

The sentiment used the kissing technique & was inked in one of the new In-Colours, Watermelon Wonder. I did stamp it off once onto scrap before stamping it for my project. The image was stamped in the leaving In-Colour, Coastal Cabana. I’m going to miss the 2013 – 2015 In-Colours!

Here’s a close up of my project…

May Thank You Notes close up

The embellisments were made using the Baked Brown Sugar, Crisp Cantaloupe & Pistachio Pudding thick baker’s twine. I taught the embellisments at my class this month & my ladies asked me what they were called.

As mentioned in my last blog post, I learnt this technique from Australian Demo Petra Tailor at Convention and I don’t remember if she had a name for them. My ladies thought we should call them Shirley Temple Ringlet Embellishments! I thought that was so appropriate cos they do look like her gorgeous ringlets   🙂

I had a few requests from some readers of my last blog post about how I made them. So I decided I will be share a quick photo tutorial on how to make them.

Step 1: Soak a length of thick baker’s twine in some water

Shirley Temple Ringlet Embellishments (STRE) step 1

Step 2: Wrap the twine around a skewer, use glue dots to hold ends in place if needed

STRE step 2

Step 3: Spray Ironing Aid over the wrapped twine, the more you spray the more likely the twine will keep its shape

STRE step 3

Step 4: I dried the twine by baking them in the oven for 2-5 minutes (depending on how wet they are) but you could dry them using a heat tool if you had time to spare – I forgot to take a photo of this step

Step 5: Slowly push the twine off the skewer and your Shirley Temple Ringlet Embellishments are ready to use on a project  🙂

STRE step 4

I found glue dots were easiest for attaching these to my projects.

I hope you found the tutorial useful and you’ll go make lots of these cute Shirley Temple Ringlet Embellishments for your projects. Do share them with me as I would love to see them on your projects!

Until next time, happy stamping!   🙂


This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

