Butterfly Basics Bokeh Birthday

Hi all,

I needed a couple of birthday cards for some guys lately & I always find it difficult to make them. So, I thought I’d try out the bokeh technique that’s totally the in thing right now. I really liked how the card turned out so I decided to teach it at my class last month too.

Here’s what I made…

Butterfly Basics Bokeh Birthday

What do you think? Do you think it would suit a guy in your life? Here’s a close up of the focal piece…

Butterfly Basics Bokeh Birthday close up

For the bokeh technique, I sponged my chosen colours (Pool Party, Tempting Turquoise & Soft Suede) over my cardstock and left to dry. Then I sponged our Whisper White Craft ink over a circle mask I made using a window sheet and 3 different sizes of Circle Punch. You can leave the ink to dry for a bit or heat set it with a heat tool.

However, I did feel like the card wasn’t 100% complete, like something was missing. So I made a second card an added an extra element. Here’s what it looked like…

Butterfly Basics Bokeh Birthday 1

Can you see the butterfly from the Butterfly Basics stamp set? Here’s a close up…

Butterfly Basics Bokeh Birthday close up 1

What do you think? Is the card still suitable for a guy or have I made the card more feminine with the butterfly?

My hubby was adamant that the card with the butterfly wasn’t suitable for a guy and he said it’s too girly. He also added, “Men don’t do butterflies, they do fishing”  😉

The ladies in my class thought it was a lovely male card but felt that it wasn’t complete without the butterfly. They also thought that the card became more feminine with the butterfly.

What do you think? Please leave me a comment on what you thought of both versions. And if you’re a guy, I would love to hear whether the version with the butterfly was too girly for you

Until next time, happy stamping!   🙂


Supply List

Built for Free Using: My Stampin Blog

This entry was posted in Birthday, Male cards and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

