Creative Inkers Team Blog Hop 2015 Occasions Catalogue Edition

Occasions Catalogue Blog Hop Banner

Welcome to the Creative Inkers Team Blog Hop! Thank you for joining us. We will be showcasing products from the 2015 Occasions Catalogue today.

If this is your first stop, then make sure you click on either the ‘Next’ or ‘Previous’ buttons below to hop around to check out everyone’s blogs. There’s also a list at the bottom of the blog in case you get lost. Now sit back and enjoy all the amazing projects we have to show you   🙂

I am featuring the You Plus Me stamp set for some very cute Valentine (or any love related occasion) cards. You can purchase this set in both Wood or Clear Mount. There’s also coordinating paper, the Stacked with Love Designer Series Paper Stack. Purchase both these items as a bundle and you’ll save 15%!

So, here’s my first project…

Twitterpated Valentine

I used the stamping off technique to create the rows of little hearts pattern as the background and then used the sentiment as a focus piece. Twitterpated means infatuation or feelings of romance. I mentioned in a previous post that I love this sentiment as it reminds me of a cute scene in the movie Bambi – yes, I’m a bit of a Disney freak!  :p

The punched border was made using the new Confetti Heart Border Punch and lined with a piece of Stacked with Love DSP Stack. If you use this punch, remember to save the hearts that get punched out for another project!

Here’s project #2…

You + Me Valentine

I chose another fairly simple layout to show off both my DSP choices – Stacked with Love DSP Stack (large circle & heart) & the gorgeous Irresistibly Yours Specialty DSP. I have to say that this DSP will have to be my favourite FREE Sale-a-Bration item this year! It was my first choice as soon as I saw it   🙂

I created a mask using a strip of window sheet & the Confetti Heart Border Punch. I layered it over the circle piece of Irresistibly Yours Specialty DSP and sponged with some Real Red ink. I then lightly sponged over the entire circle with the same Real Red ink (just whatever was left over on the sponge without reinking).

Here’s an alternate version I made with the same stamp and layout…

You + Me BFF

Just a few changes of colour and DSP and you get a totally different look to the card. Here I used the Best Year Ever DSP (another FREE Sale-a-Bration item) and a stars mask made using the Confetti Star Border Punch.

I got the idea of changing up the sentiment from our very own New Zealand representative on the 2014 Stampin’ Up! Artisan Design Team, Susan Wong. Here’s a close up of the sentiment…

You + Me BFF close up

I used the Alphabet Rotary stamp to create the ‘BFF!’ sentiment to cover up the heart. Just a quick tip when using this stamp – I find it’s best to ink it up using your Stampin’ Write Markers so that you don’t get excess ink on parts of the stamp you don’t want. Also, when stamping the words you’ve created, you’ll need to wriggle the stamp to and fro just a little to make sure you get the entire image. Otherwise, you could end up with just the top or bottom half of the letters.

Anyway, here’s what both cards look like side by side…

You + Me Double

My last project for you today are a couple of boxes…

Be Mine Treat Boxes

Both boxes were made using the 4th size on the Gift Box Punch Board. I decorated the side panels with more Stacked with Love DSP. Do you think I may love this DSP stack a bit too much?! Lol!   😀

The first box is fairly simple, here’s a close up…

Be Mine Treat Box

I stamped the sentiment in Real Red and punched it out with the 1 3/4″ Circle Punch. Sponge the edges and add 3 of the largest Rhinestones then attach to a single strand of ribbon and the belly band is complete.

I decided to step up the second box ever so slightly. Here’s a close up…

Be Mine Treat Box  stepped up

The disc is made using a mix of plain white & Calypso Coral Simply Pressed Clay. Roll into a ball, roll it out flat (I used one of my Stampin’ Write Markers) and then stamp the sentiment on it lightly. I inked up the words with Real Red and the 3 little hearts with Calypso Coral markers.

To get the disc nice and round, I pressed the 4th circle from the Circle Collection Framelits over the clay, kinda like when you use a cookie cutter. I added 3 of the largest Rhinestones as well and then set it aside to dry. Once dried, I tidied it up by trimming the edges with my Paper Snips. The disc did shrink slightly after it dried. The final size being about the same size as the sentiment on the other box.

I tied a Tiffany style bow around the box then attached the clay disc using just the silver thread from the Silver Metallic Baker’s Twine. It just adds that little bit more of a wow, I think   🙂

Well, thank you for joining me today. I hope you were inspired by my projects and will go make some awesome Valentines or love themed projects of your own.

Now click on the ‘Next’ button to head on over to see what Kathryn has whipped up for us today! Or click on the ‘Previous’ button to go backwards to Narelle 🙂

Previous Button   Next Button

Please leave me a comment about your thoughts on my project. I love hearing from my readers!

Until next time, happy stamping   🙂

Creative Inkers Team Blog Hop List:

  1. Narelle Hoggard
  2. Alicia Yap – You’re here   🙂
  3. Kathryn Tyrrell
  4. Bernie Collins
  5. Jacque Williams
  6. Rachael Knight
  7. Paula Reid
  8. Sally Williams
  9. Delys Cram
  10. Lisa Bullock
  11. Heather Stewart
  12. Ria Kaire
  13. Sharon de Vos
  14. Kathe Oldham
  15. Debbie Lamb
  16. Bev Poultney

Here’s the supplies list for all my projects today:

Supply List

Built for Free Using: My Stampin Blog

This entry was posted in Creative Inkers Team Blog Hop, Generic Occasion cards and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Creative Inkers Team Blog Hop 2015 Occasions Catalogue Edition

  1. Vicki Leach says:

    Love the stacked with love DSP. And maybe the confetti heart punch will go on my wish list. Very clever clay sentiment

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Creative Inkers Occasions Blog Hop | Handmade by Narelle

  3. Pingback: Occasions Creative Inkers Blog Hop | The Daffyscrapper

  4. Kathryn says:

    You’ve made some lovely cards here Alicia. My favourite is the hearts one – perfect for Valentines coming up.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. daffyscrapper says:

    Great Projects. Im looking at the card and thinking how cool that would be as a photo frame card with the photo in the biggest circle

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Super cute projects Alicia! I really like the paper clay tag. Must go and get that stuff out again myself.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Paula Reid says:

    Great projects – you have been busy! My favourite is project two. This is also a great way to use up scraps of DSP that we all have lying around. TFS

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Sally Williams says:

    Love your Cards and Boxes Alicia, Fabulous idea to mix the 2 different coloured clays for the box tag .TFS

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Debbie says:

    Wow – you’ve certainly been busy Alicia! Very cute projects and great to see you’ve used the clay. I must get mine out again 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Angela says:

    So many great creations. I love the two cards – same layout, but different colours and papers can make it look so different.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. What lovely projects Alicia. And well done on using the clay at this time of year. I find it gets a bit hard to deal with in the heat but you have made a great job of the marbled effect.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Sharon says:

    I love your cards and those boxes are really cute as well. I especially like your clay tag.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Kathe Oldham says:

    WOWsiers Alicia, you have been super busy.
    Love all your projects, but especially love the techniques you used for the Simply Pressed Clay- genius!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Ria says:

    Very cool projects Alicia! I love the use of the coloured clay, and thanks also for the tip on using the Alphabet Rotary stamp – I will use my markers from now on 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Bev Poultney says:

    Alicia your creations are super LOVE ly…I like the use of the circles throughout your creations and the box what a great idea – mmm my valentine will get one of those for sure Cheers

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

